HomeFactopediaBrainoffsRankingsCommunityLog In
You know 0 facts

Macavity Award - Best Nonfiction

Your overall rating on Macavity Award - Best Nonfiction =
Your best rally score on Macavity Award - Best Nonfiction = 0 facts

Play Fact Master on Macavity Award - Best Nonfiction    

Challenge Friends to a Brainoff on Macavity Award - Best Nonfiction    

Play a Rally Game on Macavity Award - Best Nonfiction    

The Macavity Awards are a literary award for mystery writers. Nominated and voted upon annually by the members of the Mystery Readers International, the award is named for the "mystery cat" of T. S. Eliot's Old Possum's Book of Practical Cats.
Awards are presented for five categories - Best Novel; Best First Novel; Best Nonfiction; Best Short Story and beginning in 2006, the Sue Feder Historical Mystery.
Until 2004, the Best Nonfiction category was named "Best Critical/Biographical Mystery Work"

33 facts:

Bill Pronzini
   won the award for   
Son of a Gun in Cheek
1988. A humorous guide to 'bad' mystery fiction.
Charlaine Harris
   won the award for   
The Sookie Stackhouse Companion
2012. A reader'scomprehensive guide to the characters and happenings in the world of Sookie Stackhouse.
Daniel Stashower
   won the award for   
The Hour of Peril: The Secret Plot to Murder Lincoln Before the Civil War
2014. Relates story of the Baltimore Plot - the alleged conspiracy to murder Abraham Lincoln during his train journey to his inauguration.
D. P Lyle, MD
   won the award for   
Forensics for Dummies
2005. One of the 'For Dummies' reference book series. Written by a doctor and former TV consultant. Provides insights into the difference between forensics in the real world and what is protrayed on film and TV.
Ed Gorman
   won the award for   
The Fine Art of Murder: The Mystery Reader's Indispensible Companion
1994. Co-edited by Martin Harry Greenberg & Jon L. Breen. A collection of essays, interviews, photographs and recommended reading suggested by authors including Robert Bloch, Dorothy Cannell and Bill Pronzini.
Ellen Nehr
   won the award for   
Doubleday Crime Club Compendium 1928 - 1991
1993. A bibliography of the Crime Club's 62 years of American and British crime fiction publications including plot synopses.
Frankie Y. Bailey
   won the award for   
African American Mystery Writers: A Historical & Thematic Study
2009. An analysis of the writing of African American mystery and crime authors.
Gary Warren Niebuhr
   won the award for   
Make Mine a Mystery: A Reader's Guide to Mystery and Detective Fiction
2004. Categorises and sub-categorises nearly 2500 mystery and crime titles.
Gillian Gill
   won the award for   
Agatha Christie: The Woman and Her Mysteries
1991. An in-depth look into some of the intriguing aspects of the mystery writer's own life.
G. Miki Hayden
   won the award for   
Writing the Mystery: A Start to Finish Guide for Both Novice and Professional
2002. A step by step guide through the writing process by the science fiction and mystery author.
Hank Phillippi Ryan
   won the award for   
Writes of Passage: Adventures on the Writer’s Journey
2015. Advice, guidance, quotes and inspirational stories from 58 mystery writers.
H. R. F. Keating
   won the award for   
The Bedside Companion to Crime
1990. A book of facts and commentary in the world of crime fiction.
Jean Grape, Dean James & Ellen Nehr
   won the award for   
Deadly Women
1998. Recommened reading lists as well as interviews, photos and stories relating to female mystery writers.
Jean Swanson & Dean James
   won the award for   
By A Woman's Hand
1995. Anthology of acclaimed female writers including author profiles, titles and plot summeries.
Jean Swanson & Dean James
   won the award for   
Killer Books
1999. "A Readers Guide to Exploring the Popular World of Mystery and Suspense"
Jim Huang & Austin Lugar
   won the award for   
Mystery Muses: 100 Classics That Inspire Today's Mystery Writers
2007. A follow-up to the 2003 award winner 'They Died in Vain: Overlooked, Underappericiated and Forgotten Mystery Novels.
Jim Huang
   won the award for   
They Died in Vain: Overlooked, Underappreciated and Forgotten Mystery Novels
2003. Collected essays, reviews and suggestions by acclaimed mystery writers of neglected titles.
John Connolly & Declan Burke
   won the award for   
Books to Die For: The World’s Greatest Mystery Writers on the World’s Greatest Mystery Novels
2013. An anthology of essays by some of the worlds best mystery writers discussing the books they themselves enjoy.
John Curran
   won the award for   
Agatha Christie's Secret Notebooks: Fifty Years of Mysteries in the Making
2011. Reveals the contents of 73 recently discovered notebooks of Agatha Christie.
Marcia Muller & Bill Pronzini
   won the award for   
1001 Nights
1987. Reviews more than 1000 popular short stories and novels in the mystery/crime genre & includes extensive plot summaries and comments on the authors.
Margaret Kinsman
   won the award for   
Sara Paretsky: A Companion to the Mystery Fiction
2017. A reference book on the short stories, essays, journalism and novels written by the creator of V.I Warshawski series.
Martin Edwards
   won the award for   
The Golden Age of Murder: The Mystery of the Writers Who Invented the Modern Detective Story
2016. The story of the British mystery writers group the Detection Club which formed in 1930 and included many eminent authors such as Dorothy L. Sayers, G. K. Chesterton, Agatha Christie, Margaret Cole and Hugh Walpole.
Martin Edwards
   won the award for   
The Story of Classic Crime in 100 Books
2018. Discusses crime fiction written during the first half of the 1900s.
Marvin Lachman
   won the award for   
The American Regional Mystery
2001. A recommended reading list of American mystery stories paying particular attention to (American) locale.
Melanie Rehak
   won the award for   
Girl Sleuth: Nancy Drew and the Women Who Created Her
2006. Discusses the two original ghostwriters behind the pseudonym Carolyn Keene: Mildred Wirt Benson and Harriet Stratemeyer Adams.
P.D. James
   won the award for   
Talking About Detective Fiction
2010. The celebrated crime author gives her insight into the mystery genre running the gamut from old to new.
Roger Sobin
   won the award for   
The Essential Mystery Lists: For Readers, Collectors and Librarians
2008. A comprehensive list of nominees and winners of many literary mystery awards.
Sarah Weinman
   won the award for   
The Real LolitaThe: Kidnapping of Sally Horner and the Novel That Scandalized the World
2019. Looks at the real-life case of the 1948 abduction of an 11 year old girl which was the inspiration for the nove written by Vladimir Nabokov.
Tom Nolan
   won the award for   
Ross Macdonald
2000. A biography of the highly regarded crime writer Kenneth Millar who used several pseudonyms. He produced his best known work, the Lew Archer detective series writing as Ross Macdonald.
Tony Hillerman & Ernie Bulow
   won the award for   
Talking Mysteries: A Conversation With Tony Hillerman
1992. Tony Hillerman discusses his approach to his writing of detective novels and his well known series of Navaho tribal Police Mysteries with his friend, the author and scholar of Navho literature, Ernie Bulow.
Victoria Nichols & Susan Thompson
   won the award for   
Silk Stalkings
1989. A reference list of female crime/mystery writers and the characters created by them.
Willetta L. Heising
   won the award for   
Detecting Women 2
1997. The follow up volume to Dectecting Women. A 3rd edition was published in 2000
Willetta L. Heising
   won the award for   
Detecting Women: A Checklist for Mystery Series Written by Women.
1996. A reference guide of female mystery writers

Facts contributed by:


   About - Terms - Privacy Log In